Queensland Chief Scientist's role

The Queensland Chief Scientist is a whole-of-government position that sits within the Department of Environment and Science. It provides high-level strategic advice to the state government on the role of science, research and innovation to meet Queensland’s challenges.

The Office of the Queensland Chief Scientist has three key responsibilities:

  • to lead science strategy across government
  • to increase engagement and participation of the Queensland community in science-based activities
  • to promote Queensland science.

As an ambassador for Queensland science, the Chief Scientist fosters cooperation and collaboration amongst the government, research, industry and community sectors; raising Queensland's profile as a smart region characterised by world class research and investment opportunities; and engaging the community in better understanding the importance of science, research and innovation in the state's future economic, social and environmental wellbeing.

Queensland Chief Scientist

The Queensland Chief Scientist is a member of the Forum of Australian Chief Scientists (FACS), which includes state and territory chief scientists and is chaired by the Chief Scientist for Australia. FACS contributes to the development of national science policy, and its members represent Australian science internationally.

Chief Scientists or equivalents exist in the Commonwealth, New South Wales, the Northern Territory, South Australia, Tasmania, Victoria and Western Australia.

  • Queensland Chief Scientist—Professor Hugh Possingham
  • Former Queensland Chief Scientists:
    • Professor Paul Bertsch
    • Dr Christine Williams
    • Professor Suzanne Miller
    • Dr Geoff Garrett AO
    • Emeritus Professor Peter Andrews AO.